The inner labyrinth. 

The first time I came across the word ‘labyrinth’ was when I read Looking For Alaska by John Green. The word arose my curiosity and I ended up googling the word. And the google results hit me so hard.  Like, someone gave the state of my mind a word to describe itself. Google told me that the word ‘labyrinth’ means  complicated irregular network of passages or paths in which it is difficult to find one’s way; a maze. 

Well,  hello there! Maze metaphor. Sigh. 

“Imagining the future is a kind of nostalgia. (…) You spend your whole life stuck in the labyrinth, thinking about how you’ll escape it one day, and how awesome it will be, and imagining that future keeps you going, but you never do it. You just use the future to escape the present.” These quoted lines were a cherry on top. 

The book Looking For Alaska kept me thinking. There are many books and quotations in the world which speaks for us. Giving us comfort. Like, we’re not alone. We’re not the only one feeling a certain way. There are others too and it is completely fine to feel the way you feel. And same is the way music makes me feel.  :’) Getting to the music part later though.   

So, yes, In the book,  Alaska quotes Simon Bolivar’s words – “How will I ever get out of this labyrinth! ” Reading this quote over and over again, I realised no one actually escapes their inner labyrinth. We all have our own ways to deal with and live in this never ending,  complicated maze.  Maybe,  one gets out of his labyrinth the day he dies. It’s an inevitable struggle. And keeping this thought in mind, I came up with the art work below. I know,  I know. It is not perfect. But well, a friend of mine told me that it does not has to be perfect all the time. Sometimes, art just needs to portray what you are feeling. And well,  this is how I feel. 

– My inner labyrinth.
-xx-


2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pretty sweet write up. I usually do not comment on blogs but this one really gave me some food for thought.

    But, don’t you think the psychological maze which we are all thrown into makes life what it is.

    I mean if their is no psychological complexity to live through, then we have attained spirituality of elephantine proportions, don’t you think?

    Like

    1. I completely agree with you. Life has its ups and lows.
      My post is actually about the painting in which I tried portraying what exactly is the state of my mind and I was able to relate it with this book I read by Paolo Coelho.
      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

