The Climb

One song that has always been in my playlist since the very beginning of my interest in western music is The Climb by Miley Cyrus. This song has always been there for me throughout my teenage days of highs and lows and now that I am 20 and have officially entered my adulthood and have already started feeling the pangs of practicality and adult life, this song manages to keep me going.

I can almost see it
That dream I am dreaming
But there’s a voice inside my head saying
You’ll never reach it

I am going to be honest here. I have been having my set of depressed days since a very long time now. I feel low on motivation and my confidence is either over the top or really down the gutter. I stay in bed and survive on junk food, novels, tv shows and paintings. I love dark and dim lights. My life has managed to defeat me in various ways about which I am not going to rant here in this post haha. To try and keep myself upbeat, I paint…I read and I listen to music. However, mostly I have failed to keep myself cheery for a long time.

Every step I’m taking
Every move I make feels
Lost with no direction
My faith is shaking

I needed a getaway and I knew it and somehow after a lot of dramas and uncertainty, I finally met my peace place…The Mountains.

This time me and my best travel partners- Priya, Mayank and baby Aveo set out for Uttarakhand. A 2 days and 2 nights trip – covering Mussoorie, Dehradun and Rishikesh – NOT like a tourist but like a traveller.

In this post, I am specifically going to talk about my encounter with George’s Everest.

It was the first day of our short getaway when we set out for Mussoorie from Dehradun. It was an almost a 1 hour drive. We stopped twice on our way.

First stop for simply embracing the hilly beauty.

DSCN0147[1].JPG
Because clicks! Credits: Priya Chaudhary

And second stop where we wandered and went down a pretty steep hill to reach a cliff to get more close to the view we were embracing during the first stop.

DSCN0152[1]
Could just sit there for a long long time.
Although we planned on roaming around the Mussoorie city and wandering here and there but oh well! Doing the unplanned and the unexpected instead is our thing, I guess. Haha. And so… while we were on our way to Mussoorie, Mayank took a turn for Cloud’s End putting us on an empty and relatively lonely road with thick greenery on one side and slightly eroded hills on the other side. The route led us to a tiny Maggi Point right in the middle of a mini valley, surrounded with greenery mixed with bright sunshine.

DSCN0154[1].JPG

Right in front of this maggi point is a wishing well which is really very deeeep and the water in it is crystal clear. We threw coins in it, made our wishes, had our maggi at the maggi point, I took out a minute to write my journal, Mayank enquired about the George’s Everest and it was decided…we were going to trek to the famous George’s Everest from Cloud’s End.

It was around 11 in the morning when we began our trek and about 10 minutes down our trek journey, we came across two roads going in two different directions. We first chose the road which took us to the opposite direction of our destination and trust me… even though we were almost lost, we did not regret any of it.

We met a localite’s little pup who was sooo adorable!

DSCN0160[1].JPG
Hey there! Hero. 
Walking down the route we chose, oblivious of the fact that we are lost, we came across a herd of wild sheep idling away their time.

DSCN0159[1].JPG

The view of high, uneven, lush green mountains  was breath-taking. Rocks were of varied colors and texture. The more you see it the more you get attracted.

DSCN0162[1].JPG

We reached yet another cliff and I realized that anyone travelling on such a route without a camera would miss the artwork greater than Picasso or da Vinci.

As I was getting close to my goal of reaching the George’s Everest, my inner Cheryl Strayed was slowly and gradually taking over me.

DSCN0163[1].JPG

Realizing that we are lost, we went back to take the other road which led us to the bottom of George’s Everest – Hathipao. There was absolute silence with insect’s noise humming across mountains accompanied with chirping of birds. But, living in a metro city, I wasn’t able to digest the kind of peace which was offered there.

The place had little shops and dhabas with benches around them. We could clearly get a view of the holy and charismatic Himalayas covered in white from there. The Himalayas from there looked like the paradise which everyone wishes to have but is way out of reach.

Moving ahead… the real trekking began- THE CLIMB began.

DSCN0174[1].JPG

The route we took was very narrow and dangerous and it involved a lot of rock climbing. We had to walk almost perpendicularly to make our ways up to the top. One mistake and we could have lost our lives! We had no safety gear. We only had a backpack with a half filled water bottle. However! We were determined to reach the top…I was determined to reach the top. This climb was important for me because after failing constantly in keeping myself upbeat…I needed to success at this climb to make myself believe that I can do anything I want to do if I could make it to the top. I was Cheryl Strayed of my own journey (Google Cheryl Strayed, author of the novel ‘WILD’). The entire time…there was just one song that was being played in my head – The Climb.

But I gotta keep trying
Gotta keep my head held high

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be a uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose

Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side 

It’s the climb

Holding hands, Forming chains… pushing and motivating each other… we climbed to the top. The entire time… my only strategy was to focus on my steps and the path I am taking and most importantly… to NOT to look down. The sun was shining right above us accompanied by the cold breeze. There were many struggles in our way…we were not sure which rock to step on…which path to take.

The struggles I’m facing
The chances I’m taking
Sometimes might knock me down
But no, I’m not breaking

Motivated and driven… we just kept on going!

I may not know it
But these are the moments that
I’m gonna remember most, yeah
Just gotta keep going

After about an hour.. WE FINALLY MADE IT TO THE TOP!!!

That moment. Haha.

dscn01911.jpg
Yayy! Our little victory!

Filled with adventurous lust and love for each other… That moment is by far the best moment I have with my these two little idiots.

The view from the top was surreal! Clear sky above with sun shining happily on us, we could see the Dehradun valley on one side and the ‘paradise-out of our reach’ The Himalayas on the other side.

DSCN0204[1].JPG

We met two really fun people on the top as well – Akash and Pooja and we got clicked with them because haha, why not?

DSCN0187[1].JPG
These guys were having their own little party on the top with booze and smoke. xD

Moving here and there and trying to capture all of it, we came across large strings of Prayer Flags which were all over the peek blessing the surrounding countryside.

DSCN0228[1].JPG

I was relaxed and it was so peaceful that I started meditating in fresh air. I felt free and enjoyed every bit of it as I knew that it was not going to last forever.

DSCN0230[1].JPG

Successfully reaching the top and being high on hills, my tranquility is hopefully restored. Tired and exhausted, we reached the top and it was worth it…totally worth it.

Keep on moving, keep climbing
Keep the faith, baby
It’s all about, it’s all about the climb
Keep the faith, keep your faith…

This is why the hills are my ultimate cure. This is why one should travel and explore as much they can. Travelling keeps one sane. Haha. It teaches you and makes you realize things in extraordinary ways.

Ending this long paragraph, I would like to quote Miley Cyrus – Life’s a climb but the view is great.

I would like to thank my travel buddies – Mayank, Priya and ofcourse… our baby Aveo for this much needed adventure.

Until next time.

-xx.

Leave a Reply

